Michelle Tea

Michelle Tea is the author of five memoirs: “The Passionate Mistakes and Intricate Corruption of One Girl in America,” “Valencia” (now a film), “The Chelsea Whistle,” “Rent Girl” (illustrated), and “How to Grow Up,” currently in development with Amazon Studios. Her novels include “Black Wave,” “Mermaid in Chelsea Creek,” “Girl at the Bottom of the Sea,” and “Rose of No Man’s Land.”

Tea is the curator of the Amethyst Editions imprint at the Feminist Press. She founded the literary nonprofit RADAR Productions and the international Sister Spit performance tours, and is the former editor of Sister Spit Books, an imprint of City Lights. She created “Mutha Magazine,” an online publication about real-life parenting. Her writing has appeared in “Harper’s,” “Cosmopolitan,” “The Believer,” “Marie Claire,” “n+1,” “xoJane,” “California Sunday Magazine,” “Buzzfeed,” and many other print and web publications. Her new collection of essays, “Against Memoir,” was published by Amethyst Editions in May 2018.

News and Reviews:

The 50 Best Books of 2018 So Far (PopMatters)
Dear Reader: A Q&A with Michelle Tea (Tin House)
10 Essential Books About Contemporary Queer Life in America (Publishers Weekly)
The Big, Bad Truth of Michelle Tea (The New Republic)
30 Summer Books To Get Excited About (Buzzfeed)
The personal is political in Michelle Tea’s raw new essay collection (The AV Club)

Related Sessions

View full schedule