Elizabeth McCracken Elizabeth McCracken

Elizabeth McCracken, twice nominated for the National Book Award, is the author of six books: “Here’s Your Hat What’s Your Hurry,” “The Giant’s House,” “Niagara Falls All Over Again,” “An Exact Replica of a Figment of My Imagination,” “Thunderstruck & Other Stories,” and “Bowlaway.”

She’s received grants and fellowships from the Guggenheim Foundation, the National Endowment for the Arts, the Liguria Study Center, the American Academy in Berlin, the Fine Arts Work Center in Provincetown, and the Radcliffe Institute for Advanced Study. “Thunderstruck & Other Stories” won the 2015 Story Prize.

She has taught creative writing at Western Michigan University, the University of Oregon, the University of Houston, and the University of Iowa Writers’ Workshop. She holds the James A. Michener Chair in Fiction at the University of Texas, Austin, and boy are her arms tired.

News and Reviews
The Best Novels of 2019 (So Far) (Paste Magazine)
Book review: Bowlaway by Elizabeth McCracken (stuff)

Related Sessions

View full schedule